Cassandra Mathews – Guitar teacher

cassandra MathewsI work part time for Artpeggios and enjoy my role within the school in teaching individual lessons in a variety of styles.  Before coming to Artpeggios I had mainly taught classical guitar, but working here has enabled me to explore other approaches to teaching guitar.  This has been through teaching my students to play songs that they are familiar with, such as those in the charts and teaching enjoyment of the instrument in this way.

My ultimate aim as a teacher is to promote enjoyment of making music and to develop innate musical capabilities in my students.  Artpeggios is a great place to teach because it offers me the chance to teach from a fixed location so that I am not forced to travel all over London, as well as the fact that their facilities are fantastic and very well organised.  Obviously, it helps to be in the great location of central London as there are so many opportunities to perform both for myself and my students.

As well as teaching, I am a fully functional performer and often perform in venues and churches around London either solo or with violinist Sean Riley.

My favourite artists are an eclectic mix that ranges from Marcin Dylla (classical guitarist), Deftones (alternative rock) to London Elektricity (drum and bass)…if it is of high quality musicianship, I’ll enjoy it!

 

Leave a Reply

